English department honors student achievement

On Thursday April 10 the Winthrop University English department held their second annual awards banquet in the Macfeat Building.

During the ceremony students were recognized for their work in different areas, but also recognized were the many accomplishments of professors in the department.

There were a number of awards given out during the ceremony.

The first awards given out were the Geraldine Trammel Hurley Fellowship which were awarded to three different students. Marie Tumaniec, Brierly Wills and Chelesa Bergmann were the three recipients.

Students Brandi Geurkink and Keith Mushonga were the recipients of the John Spratt and Sandra Hagler White award. Geurkink and Mushonga won for their excellence in scholarship and service to Winthrop University.

The Annie Laurie Steppe Prize for Excellence in Freshmen Composition, which is granted to a non-English major, was awarded to Kaela Buelo. Buelo won for an essay written in the fall in her Writing 101 class, which was titled “Return of America’s Education System.”

Patrick Bryan was the recipient of the William A. Sullivan Graduate Writing Award for his essay “Decloting the Subject: Language and the Affiliation/ Negotiation of Being in As I Lay Dying.”

The final award given out was the Cindy Furr and McAllister Price Memorial Scholarship and was awarded to Chelsea Bergmann.

For more information on the ceremony, those interested are advised to contact Dr. Cynthia Macri.

Adarrell Gadsden

Adarrell is a Sports Editor for The Johnsonian. He got his start as a staff writer before taking the job of Co-Science and Technology Editor. He later served as Opinion Editor and Managing Editor before taking on as the Editor-in-Chief for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Leave a Reply